Fiction Writing

A novel idea

As a brief foray into the archives of this blog can tell you, I wrote the first draft of a novel during the summer of 2009. Though it and the half-done first draft I completed for NaNoWriMo in 2009 were not completed, they proved to me that I have the patience, self-control, and writing skill to write a novel.

And now I want to do it again.

I’ve had an idea bouncing around in my head for quite some time, and instead of thinking it’s dumb as I do with some of my older ideas, it’s gotten more interesting and more nuanced. Within the last week, I’ve started having images appear in my head of places in the novel-to-be, and my characters now have names. I’m pretty sure that I’m now at the point where little other than starting to write is going to help me.

My plan is to use the same regimen I did for my first novel, though possibly taken up a notch. For my first novel, I wrote 750 words a day, every day, until the story was finished. I’m thinking that for this attempt, I’m going to aim for 1,000 words a day. A slight uptick, but improvement nonetheless. I’m also going to be writing other things, so my day-to-day throughput will be higher.

As before, each day-to-day post here will detail my words for the day, cumulative words, and instead of whether I ended a scene that day (which was never information that helped me), possibly a brief note of other things I wrote. As I’m still running a Cyberpunk game, and thinking of playing in a play-by-post, there will often be other writing. At current, my plan is to start the actual writing process on Monday, just to make sure I have everything in order.

Tomorrow, an open brainstorm on my new world idea. Thursday, a character profile for a game I may be joining.

Leave a Reply

