Uncategorized

Why the hell not?

I had this idea for an RPG campaign. It was probably the most ambitious idea I’ve had in a while, and would require some tight controls. In essence, it was a post-apocalyptic setting, though my intent was to get a “during”-apocalyptic flavor. And, whether or not it was all that original or not, I was dead set on it being my next campaign.

Well, the obstacles that presented themselves had little to do with my idea. I had ceded the order of GM precedence to another member because I seemed to take over these proceedings most of the time, and he was an experienced GM who hadn’t yet run for our group. Of course, then we decided to wait for one of our members to return from sea. In total, it would be 8-10 months minimum until I could run my game.

I started thinking about that game. Similar to many of the ones I had run, I had some very specific ideas about how things could go that really interested me. And I had some pretty narrow ideas about the characters that would work…and then it hit me.

I shouldn’t wait to play this as a game. I have better ideas, actually almost an entire plotline playing out in my head. I should write this up. No reason to saddle my group members with my frustrated novelist tendencies. So I’ve decided to take this one on on my own.

I’m going to try and write up my apocalyptic story idea. Starting next week, I’m going to try and put some word count to this. The way I see it, it will work better than if I waited patiently to incorporate it into a game. My current plan is based on my free nights- I am usually free Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, so let’s see what I can do writing 750 words three days a week. It’s a little ambitious, but I think I can get somewhere with a combination of a disciplined schedule and possibly some public shame. I’ve learned a bit from my last attempt…this one will be slower, but if I can keep writing it’s definitely possible, Let’s see where it ends up.

Leave a Reply

