Uncategorized

iO9: Why neglecting math can be hazardous to your life

http://io9.com/why-neglecting-math-can-be-hazardous-to-your-life-1569817684

It’s a simple thesis I believe I’ve presented before: the average American’s lack of understanding of statistics causes them to do really stupid things.

Ultimately, I still cringe whenever I hear someone say they’re “bad at math”. Basic quantitative literacy is easy, if most would just bother to put in a little effort to understand it. This may sound quaint coming from someone with an engineering degree, but it’s true. What I see most around me is an inability to understand basic statistics and basic budgeting, with visible and highly negative results.

Leave a Reply

