Writing

Interruptions

It’s been a tough row to hoe with writing recently. My intent is to get some words down this weekend, as next week I’m spending the majority of my time in San Francisco for work. The previous weeks were fallow mainly because of the work going into this impending trip, as well as a busy Labor Day holiday.

I have been able to write some scribbles about a random game idea, as well as finish reading the Burning Wheel Codex, which as I suspected made me ache to run Burning Wheel. I am putting that aside, though, to return to my fiction.

I’ve been thinking a little bit about things that happened to me in college that could be used in Fratricide, and it’s been a mixed bag. I don’t think I have the character establishment to really push the intra-fraternity drama that was more reflective of my college life, but at the same time it’s an important part. These organizations are about their members as much or more than the environment in which they belong. I’m getting some of that across…but I’ll need to write more before I figure out if it’s enough. It also doesn’t take away from the fact that the story is about Scott and his struggles more than the cyclical cattiness of a fraternity.

Part of me is itching to skip ahead into the inciting action, but the more I write the more I realize that setting up the exposition is important. Once the pieces are in place it’ll be easier to jump around, but I need to lay some groundwork. In some ways, it’s more important since I’m revisiting a story and drastically changing it.

The story is still in my head and I’m still making it a priority; my recent delays haven’t swayed me. But I have a lot of words to write.

Leave a Reply

