Reflective Writing

Writing prompts of note

Last week messed up my writing pace, and I’m going to have to get back onto the Fratricide train and finish section 1 sometime soon, hopefully before this weekend is over. In the meanwhile, I’m contemplating other ideas I have, and whether poking at a few other ideas simultaneously is a good thing or a bad thing. Some of these ideas need more fleshing out, but my lack of doing anything with them hasn’t helped that one bit.

Idea: Woods in Winter. The protagonist wakes up in a secluded part of Maine after 200 years in a cryotank. Meant to be an exploration of the notion of living after society is gone, kind of a quiet apocalypse as opposed to typical sci-fi and horror interpretations.

Why haven’t I written anything: This one came to me recently, and I plotted the idea of writing this for NaNoWriMo. Even if I don’t participate in NaNo, I’m hoping to explore this soon.

Idea: Egon the Nomad. Egon lives in a village on the edge of the woods. One day, he finds the end of the woods. Of course, the “end of the woods” for his little medieval village is actually a perimeter maintained by a far-flung commune of scientists tasked with preserving the human race.

Why haven’t I written anything: This one came to me at Pennsic, inspired directly by taking the notion of artificial lifestyles to its logical extreme. I haven’t written more about this because as far as I can tell it doesn’t have a plot yet. May be better suited to a short story, based on the limited set of ideas I want to explore.

Idea: Something about high school. I’ve wanted to write a fictional memoir of high school forever, and have tried a few angles.

Why I haven’t written anything: Two reasons. First, I don’t think anyone would want to read it. Second, I have no idea what the angle is. My high school life wasn’t that interesting, what am I changing/condensing/adding to make it a good narrative? The idea, tempting as it is, is still too vague.

What I’m trying to figure out is if I can actually have two writing projects at once. It’ll help me manage the ebb and flow of my engagement with Fratricide…assuming it doesn’t distract me entirely. In theory more angles to approach writing is a good thing…right?

The other thing, realistically, is that if I want to have more writing ideas I need to spend some time on the ones I have, and figure out how to develop them. It’ll help hone my skills for catching other ideas out of the aether when my mind is wandering.

I clearly have the ability to write more. On a decent week I’m putting 2,000 words in this blog. Now I just need to see if I can keep multiple projects humming at once.

Leave a Reply

