Reflective Writing

The wagon, and getting back on it

I wrote 500 words last night, which is my first contribution to Fratricide in about a week and a half. It was in all reality probably a good thing that this rough patch came so close to November, because it served as a stark reminder that doing NaNoWriMo is going to take more organization, time, and willpower than I likely have on tap for an entire month. That said, I felt more in the groove with the draft than I have in a while, and am probably going to finish up the first section in another one or two writing days.

At the very least, I have been getting things done outside of writing. I finished reading a book and started another, and have all but finished my project bike, with only pedals, final adjustments and trim on the to-do list…once the pedals are installed the bike will be rideable, and will mark the first bicycle I’ve rebuilt extensively. And beyond that, I’ve written a couple thousand words of random game stuff, play-by-post setup, and GM logging. At the very least I haven’t been sitting on my hands.

Tonight is Dungeon World, and an earnest attempt to regain focus from the haphazard session two weeks ago. And then after that I’m going to redouble my efforts to spend a good amount of my free time doing something productive.

Leave a Reply

